Home Personnel Publications Events Seminars Equipment Gallery About

Dr. Jaakko Härkönen - ERA Chair

Date and place of birth: September 21st 1972., Imatra, Finland

Academic education:

  • Doctor of Science in Technology, Helsinki University of Technology 2001.
  • Licentiate of Science in Technology, Helsinki University of Technology 1999.
  • M.Sc (engineering), Helsinki University of Technology 1997.
  • Academic Work Experience: European Research Area (ERA) Chair project leader at Ruder Boskovic Institute 2016-2020. Visiting professor at Xiangtan University, Hunan, China 2015-2017. Spokesperson of CERN RD39 “Cryogenic Tracking Detectors” Collaboration 2003-2016. Member of Institutional Board of Helsinki Institute of Physics (HIP) 2009-2013. Project leader at HIP for “CMS Upgrade project” 2008-2016. Academy of Finland research fellow 2007-2012 at CERN, Geneva, Switzerland. Academy of Finland post doctoral scientist 2002-2006 at CERN, Geneva, Switzerland. Convener “Pad detector characterization” of CERN RD50 Collaboration 2002-2003. Project Leader at Helsinki University of Technology 1997-2001. Research assistant at Microelectronics Center of Iowa State University, USA 07/1995-12/1995. Research assistant at Center for Electronphysics of Ebara Corporation, Fujisawa, Japan 05/1992-08/1992.

    Research activities: About 100 publications in peer-reviewed journals dealing with semiconductor processing, High Energy Physics instrumentation, semiconductor material characterization and radiation hardness of silicon detectors. More than 500 physics articles with the CERN CMS Collaboration. Referee of funding applications for Swedish Research Council, Czech Science Foundation and Research Council of Norway. Evaluation of articles for ” Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A”, ”IEEE Transactions on Nuclear Science”, ”Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells” and “Microelectronic Engineering”. Supervisor for five doctoral thesis and more than ten master’s thesis. Currently supervising four doctoral thesis. Member of scientific committee of conferences “International Conference on Radiation Effects on Semiconductor Materials Detectors and Devices” and “International Conference Radiation Effects on Components and Systems”.